dp4800 codeplug

Forum for DMR, dPMR, NEXEDGE, Mototrbo, MARC, Tetra & all other DIGITAL modes

dp4800 codeplug

Postby warlock01 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 11:12 am

hi all, i am looking to buy a dp4800 radio, i allready have a dp3600 ....in my software i only have a vhf dp 4800 codeplug and the radio i may get is a uhf do i still need a uhf dp4800 code plug, or would the software recognise the uhf radio anyway...regards p/s would a codeplug for a dp 4801 be any good for a dp 4800
warlock01
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:15 pm

Re: dp4800 codeplug

Postby bigboyblue » Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:47 pm

the radio will come with a codeplug already in it, just read he radio and use that.
bigboyblue
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:09 pm

Re: dp4800 codeplug

Postby warlock01 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:30 pm

hi thank you for your reply, so i does not matter then if there is not a codeplug in the cps that matches the radio.. i was going to buy the 4800 but only to realize that the radio like i think most modern motorola's doe not have a normally antenna connector like lets say a sma connector so i could use it in my car.unlike my dp3600.. anyway thank you for your advice..regards
warlock01
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:15 pm

Re: dp4800 codeplug

Postby CW-2E0UCW » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:59 pm

The CPS comes with sample code plugs which are as it says - just samples. When you get the radio, read the code plug from the radio - make a backup of what was in it then read another to use to make your code plug. The only issue I have heard of is that if the code plug in the radio is from a newer CPS than what you have you may not be able to read it.

You can copy data between code plugs (contacts and zones) ensuring that the Rx Group Lists, Scan Lists & Roam Lists are created first and with the same name. Then copy across the contacts then the zones. I copy the code plug from my DM4600 to my DP4800 with no issues.

Also new models are out - DM4600e and DP4800e - you can get a DP4600e with a SMA connector at over £400 - rather get a DM4600 (one model prior to the current) which is around £300 and gives you more power which will be better than using a handheld.
CW-2E0UCW
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:13 pm


Return to DMR & Digital Modes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest