Page 1 of 2

IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:59 pm
by jjahr
Greetings - I know this has been covered before on various forums but I've just bought an R5 for my 11 year old son - and I still can't make the instructions work. I've got the channels I want in memory (with the MR tag) and I want to scan them. Please can anyone explain step by step how to get those MR channels into some kind of list (Prog?) and then scan that Prog?

All help very gratefully accepted. I'm on holiday in Spain with loads of ATC conversations and it's very annoying to not be able to scan them properly.

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:19 pm
by jimh
jjahr

Assuming you have correctly added channels to memory (it'll display as something like "123.450 001" where 001 is the memory channel, and MR appearing in a small box over the 001):

Scan:
Switch on the radio using the orange button.
Single short button press of the V/M button (far left) to toggle between VFO (freq input and channel in memory)
Make sure it displays the memory channel eg 123.450 001
Then press and hold the MODE/SCAN button
You should see the memories being scanned
Press MODE/SCAN again to stop the scan

Search:
Switch on the radio using the orange button.
Single short button press of the V/M button (far left) to toggle between VFO (freq input and channel in memory)
Make sure it displays the VFO frequency eg 123.450
Then press and hold the MODE/SCAN button
It'll then ask to search ALL, BAND, etc...toggle by twisting the knob. Usually ALL is best
Then press MODE/SCAN again to start searching
Twisting the knob advances the search up or down
Press MODE/SCAN again to stop the search

Adding to specific memory banks and scanning by bank is a little more complicated.....is the above enough to be getting you started?

Jim

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:48 pm
by jjahr
Jim, thank you very much for your reply. I will try this and let you know how far I get. I understand that getting some software would make it much easier!

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:01 pm
by jjahr
Thanks again Jim, unfortunately that didn't work. I have 52 MR channels which I got by running the automatic memory scan on air band. When I start off with MR 000 124.650 Mhz on the display, and press Mode/Scan, a short press changes from AM to FM or WFM, and a longer press just gives me a long beep but doesn't scan.

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:34 pm
by m0lsx
Are you setting the squelch ?? As a scanner will only scan when the squelch has been set to block out the background static.

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:55 pm
by stevedobbs
hi jim can you help me to I have a yupiteru mvt 9000 mk11 see new topic steve

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:02 pm
by K1974
Hi

I am having similar problems with this model.

I have read the manual but don't really understand what I am doing.

I have followed the instructions higher up in this thread but still cannot do a simple scan through all frequencies to hear something... I am sorry if I have explained that poorly - I am just super confused with it all!

Thanks
K

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:01 pm
by K1974
m0lsx wrote:Are you setting the squelch ?? As a scanner will only scan when the squelch has been set to block out the background static.


I have Squelch set to auto.

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:57 pm
by m0lsx
Are the frequencies you have programmed ones you will hear where you are & are they active at the times you are scanning? Scanning is not like listening to Radio 2. The frequencies may only be active for a few minutes across a day & range can vary from may miles to a few hundred yards at the most.

Re: IC-R5 - How to scan memory channels

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:57 pm
by K1974
m0lsx wrote:Are the frequencies you have programmed ones you will hear where you are & are they active at the times you are scanning? Scanning is not like listening to Radio 2. The frequencies may only be active for a few minutes across a day & range can vary from may miles to a few hundred yards at the most.


Ah no, I get that - I am just an idiots guide as to what buttons I should be pressing. I did find some stuff last night but that was more luck than judgement!