PMR

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

PMR

Postby brimstone » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:30 am

Hi -All
I am new to scanning. I have an Uniden ez133xlt, which is excellent, I have been out and about scanning using the different set band widths, I have picked up on most but never get anything on PMR. To be honest I,m not sure who broadcasts on the 446 frequencies. Any info on this and where is best to pick up broadcasts on PMR would be appreciated.

regards
steve.
brimstone

Re: PMR

Postby m0lsx » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:06 am

PMR = Private Mobile Radio.
This covers anything from Taxi's, to haulage firms, to shops, to farmers, to motorcycle to motorcycle radios.
You mention 446.
446 Mhz is a licence free PMR system, the radios should conform to a set of criteria about power used, frequencies, even antenna designs to be legal & thus licence free.
The range of PMR446, is very very small. Forget the 2 - 3 kilometres rangers or more given by some manufacturers. These ranges are achievable, but not under most circumstances, expect, say 200 yards at most, but don't be surprised at more or even a lot less.
Also don't forget a handheld scanner has a small inefficient antenna on it & as it is illegal to use PMR446 on anything else but the standard antenna, so doe the radio you want to listen to. Now add in the fact that the weak signal you want to listen to is on UHF, where the signal will be attenuated greatly by walls, people, vehicles etc etc.
Buy a database from Kimmy JS19 via http://ukscanningdirectory.co.uk/
Or do Google search of this forum via https://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=partner-pub-6291336405621919:2662881632
73 De Alan (M0LSX.)
http://www.qrz.com/db/M0LSX"
m0lsx

Postby Chris P » Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:20 pm