Help with Fairhaven rd500

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

Help with Fairhaven rd500

Postby mickydt » Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:05 pm

can any one help me out with this?

Fairhaven i purchased one of these a while back i would be grateful of how to enter the step size for band searches. also can't get my head around how to setup the multiple vfo.

have found it easy to program what i need though.

any help appreciated.

mike
User avatar
mickydt
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Help with Fairhaven rd500

Postby m0lsx » Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:49 pm

Do you have the manual?
If not...https://www.manualslib.com/manual/988067/Fairhaven-Rd500.html?page=2#manual

Step size selection is covered on 4.8..

Tuning step size selection can be altered
by pressing
SHIFT
-
Key 8, the up and
down keys are used to scroll through the
step size options and the chosen step size
is also used when scanning. The step size
should usually be set for “Normal” which
allows the receiver to automatically set a
step size that is ap
propriate to the mode
that is being used, for example:
SSB Modes – Step size = 5Hz
NBFM - Step size = 12.5kHz
AM - Step size = 100Hz


VFO selectio is 4.7...
Buy a database from Kimmy JS19 via http://ukscanningdirectory.co.uk/
Or do Google search of this forum via https://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=partner-pub-6291336405621919:2662881632
73 De Alan (M0LSX.)
http://www.qrz.com/db/M0LSX"
User avatar
m0lsx
 
Posts: 4902
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Norwich. TG21.

Re: Help with Fairhaven rd500

Postby mickydt » Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:59 pm

when you do a band search it asks for the lower, upper then the step size, the step size shows as 0.00000 then you enter the step size you want but not sure how to put in 12.5khz or 6.25khz

i do have the manual but as says not sure about how to get the multiple vfo working.
User avatar
mickydt
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Help with Fairhaven rd500

Postby m0lsx » Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:00 pm

mickydt wrote: the step size shows as 0.00000 then you enter the step size you want but not sure how to put in 12.5khz or 6.25khz



If we assume the zero to be the MHz, which would make sense & if PMR 446 channel one is 446.00625 then it would make sense if the zero is MHz for 6.25khz to be 0.00625 & for 12.5khz to be 0.01250.

The so called multiple VFO's look more like pre programmed memories, than VFO's. If they were VFO's they would not operate as they do. They are simply pre programmed channels, that allow you to move away from that spot frequency.
So simply pre program it..So for example if you listen to lets say Sunday morning free radio broadcasters on 48 meters..You set your VFO at say 6200khz & that gives you the bottom of the band. Once there, you can use the tuning to move up & down the band. You could also have an amateur radio station operating what is called split. Let us assume someone is transmitting on 20 meters & listening on 17 meters. It is not going to happen, but lets assume. You set VFO A to 20 meters & VFO B to 17 meters & then flick between the two to listen to what he is saying & what the other stations are saying.
Getting use to the radio is simply a matter of playing & learning.
Buy a database from Kimmy JS19 via http://ukscanningdirectory.co.uk/
Or do Google search of this forum via https://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=partner-pub-6291336405621919:2662881632
73 De Alan (M0LSX.)
http://www.qrz.com/db/M0LSX"
User avatar
m0lsx
 
Posts: 4902
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Norwich. TG21.

Re: Help with Fairhaven rd500

Postby mickydt » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:32 pm

it is weird i can get my head around the icom r20 along with alinco dj-x11 and the aor dv1 but yet something so old throws me.

can even use the various sdr dongles with no problems.

:dizzy:
User avatar
mickydt
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:15 am


Return to Radio and Scanning Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron