Modulation Uniden UBC125

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

Modulation Uniden UBC125

Postby spaceman76 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:15 pm

Hi, im new to scanning and since i got my scanner yesterday im not really sure what im doing, however have found that London Busses are are busy around 239.6700 FM. Anyhow what I need to know about is when im searching (usually through every bank), is how to know what modulation to use (FM or AM), for the bandwidth. Are the preset modulations for the widths all well and good ?? Like say im searching a bandwidth on AM (and picking up channels), is it possible that im missing other(FM) channels on this same frequency ? I cannot get my head round this. What are the (rule of thumb) modulations for widths, if that makes any sense ? Or am i missing something. Thanks BTW anyone have any frequencies for the Bromley, Kent area ? Im getting alot of London Bus activity in North London area and thats more than 20 miles away, which is good !
spaceman76

Re: Modulation Uniden UBC125

Postby alpha_india » Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:04 am

I'm pretty sure that in Search mode modulation doesn't apply, you're searching between a lower and upper frequency and the scanner will identify the correct modulation.

But.. although I'm a UBC125 user, I very rarely Search. I'm almost always in Scan mode against frequencies I've loaded into the scanner using Scan125. My main interest is airband, but I'll also have a scan through the standard 433/466/SUKL/Events and the default Baofang channels.

Limiting your Search to a narrower frequency range or your Scan to fewer banks will be more efficient.
alpha_india

Postby spaceman76 » Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:18 am

Okay thanks, noticed that im not recieving any Ham, is this because the aerial (Watson 881) is not up to it, or the UBC125 is not powerful enough ?
spaceman76

Postby alpha_india » Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:14 am