02 network down but what about airwave ?

Talk about radio and non radio stuff in here, a place for Genral Chit Chat

02 network down but what about airwave ?

Postby Alfie » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:39 pm

https://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/46466324

As a lot of you will now the 02 network has had problems all day and now has gone off altogether for me. no signal and no calls texts or data is possible.

this also is affecting GiffGaff, Tesco Mobile, Sky and Lycamobile

but what about airwave ?

is airwave still run by 02 or has an 02 backbone ?

and if affected where will the bobbies move to ?
User avatar
Alfie
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:48 pm
Location: The City

Re: 02 network down but what about airwave ?

Postby Minus1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:06 pm

Don't know about O2; but Airwave uses completely different frequencies and different transmitters, so likely a completely separate network.
I reserve the right to ignore people who have made no attempt to the read the manual, and expect others to do it for them.
User avatar
Minus1
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 8:17 am
Location: West Midlands

Re: 02 network down but what about airwave ?

Postby Bobcode » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:10 pm

Airwave running normally.
The past serves nothing, save lessons learned for the future !
Bobcode
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:13 pm
Location: Suffolk

Re: 02 network down but what about airwave ?

Postby G4RMT » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:32 am

I wonder if it's linked to the ~Huawei fuss at the moment? The Chinese government apparently using Huawei to collect data flowing through the BT network which used to be full of the Chinese gear, and which is being removed at the moment?
G4RMT
 
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:45 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest