scanning aerial

Talk about radio and non radio stuff in here, a place for Genral Chit Chat

Re: scanning aerial

Postby JGR » Mon Apr 20, 2020 4:02 pm

Late to the table but the X510 has a very wideband receive, I just scanned mine with my vector network analyser, and I was somewhat surprised at the results so much so that I calibrated the VNA and tried again and the results were good.
JGR
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:51 am
Location: Cumbria

Re: scanning aerial

Postby stanogs68 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:49 pm

thank you ,but i have the n one thats huge its as big a my sirio ,i want a small one ,many thamks for al your help cheers lads :walkietalkie:
stanogs68
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: scanning aerial

Postby Chris P » Fri May 01, 2020 8:44 am

how about replacing the sirio with the X510 unless you still want to use the sirio for TXing
Regards Chris aka G8FFF nipper or tazmin88
Chris P
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: 6.5nM west of 06 threshold marham

Re: scanning aerial

Postby stanogs68 » Sat May 09, 2020 9:41 pm

Chris P wrote:how about replacing the sirio with the X510 unless you still want to use the sirio for TXing

No ,Im no going to tx as im still doing my foundation course but i will be ,The thing is i either get a smaller scanning aerial or swap it for my Antron because both are to big to put up together on my property ,the neighbours are nice but its a posh area and it will look a bit much
stanogs68
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:31 pm

Re: scanning aerial

Postby rovman » Sun Oct 11, 2020 2:29 pm

Well I use on my 5700D a X510 at about 100 Ft with LDF-450 and it works very well , Have tried many ants over the years from the SX200 days to IC-7000 with discones and the X510 has been the best and now on my forth one the only problem I have found is corrosion so best use rubber vulcanizing tape on the joints .
rovman
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:28 pm

Re: scanning aerial

Postby G4RMT » Mon Oct 12, 2020 7:44 am

The most effective wide and antenna I've ever had is a jaybeam discone, but it has sat on the ground for five yea now because it's just so impractical up in the air. I've got a small j pole for UHF, a single band UHF 4.5dBd vertical for 453 and a white stick dual band, probably a 30 of some brand or other. On an analyser the discone is a spikey mess. Lots of spikes where it is more resonant and lots of dips that are not too bad vswr wise. It does however do a good job absolutely everywhere between 70 and 500mhz and it's actually got some performance in the 600mhz band. The white stick has sensible matches in the two ham bands but in between them it's a bit of metal in the sky. I have commercial kit here. The vswr on 453 is workable, about 2:1 but on the repeater it's absolutely rubbish. The jpole is a tiny little thing and on transmit it's damn good. So many antennas now seem to be designed with vswr as the critical feature, NOT for actually getting RF in or out.
G4RMT
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:45 pm

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest