Digital scanners

Forum for DMR, dPMR, NEXEDGE, Mototrbo, MARC, Tetra & all other DIGITAL modes

Digital scanners

Postby popidol1982 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:13 pm

Has anyone had first hand experience with digital scanning? I'm new to all the digital stuff, so I have come here for some advice. What scanners are out there to buy? I have heard of P25 is that in the uk or just the us?
What's the best type of scanner to buy to pick up all digital frequencies? I obviously know that I will not be able to pick up encrypted Tetra.
Who mostly use digital now? Can digital scanners be used with a discone? Can I use my original discone that I use with my analogue scanner?

Soooo many questions to ask

I will be doing some googling as we'll..... :?
popidol1982

Re: Digital scanners

Postby SilverShadow » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm

There are a few digital scanners out there from the likes of Uniden and Gre but they are aimed at the american market and cover the popular american modes.

This one looks nice
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BsO5KjZDrXg

P25 means APCO-25 which is big in america but not so big over here although there is limited use. At the moment you need a scanner connected to the pc with a discriminator tap and software available free on the net to listen to the modes most popular in the uk which are tetra, mototrbo and Kenwood Nexedge

None of the digital scanners at the moment will do the uk popular modes but dsd will decode mototrbo/nexedge/p25 and Osmocom software will decode tetra (non encrypted) transmissions but not tetra airwave (encrypted)

The other popular digital mode in the uk is D-Star but at the moment you need another D-Star radio to tune in on that.
SilverShadow
Site Admin

Postby m0lsx » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:08 am