Tetra No signal ?

Forum for DMR, dPMR, NEXEDGE, Mototrbo, MARC, Tetra & all other DIGITAL modes

Tetra No signal ?

Postby noob » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:18 am

Hi i know encrypted tetra cannot be decoded but iam playing with tetra live monitor atm this isn't the problem as iam Linux savvy so know what iam doing.

The problem iam getting is even on sdrsharp and on my handheld i cannot get a tetra signal i was under the impression that it is all networked based airwave etc so i should be at least receiving some sort of signal regardless of how far i am ?

ive tried doing a band scan and no luck and also tried the main UK 390.0125–394.9875, 380.0125–384.9875 and 454, 464 or 460 frequencies from wiki but there is no sound at all radio is just dead.

Can somebody point me in the right direction

Thanks in advance

Noob
noob
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:45 am

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby Chris P » Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:01 pm

check that data skip is not programmed as the rx squelch will not open on a data channel
Regards Chris aka G8FFF nipper or tazmin88
Chris P
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: 6.5nM west of 06 threshold marham

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby noob » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:53 pm

Hi pal how would i know if iam tuning into a data skip freqency as i am just using the ones listed on wiki as a starting guide for myself it does not mention anything about data skip ? just shows a list of tetra/airwave freqencys

Cheers

Noob
noob
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:45 am

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby Chris P » Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:42 am

Think Ive misread your original post ,

dataskip is an option on some receivers search/scan mode . By enabling data skip the receiver squelch is not opened on reception of a signal that appears to be data as opposed to normal or analogue audio .

this would include Tetra signals , I will have a look on my SDR and get an image of the spectrum display and waterfall for the tetra signals in my area just to satisfy a gap in my knowledge
Regards Chris aka G8FFF nipper or tazmin88
Chris P
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: 6.5nM west of 06 threshold marham

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby noob » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:05 pm

arrre ok if you get a hit with a tetra signal in sdrsharp can you let me know cheers pal iam not sure why iam not getting at least one hit

Thanks

Noob
noob
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:45 am

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby jimh » Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:41 pm

Something very odd happening here.....

noob wrote:ive tried doing a band scan and no luck and also tried the main UK 390.0125–394.9875, 380.0125–384.9875 and 454, 464 or 460 frequencies from wiki but there is no sound at all radio is just dead.


The place to look will be the 390.0125–394.9875 band. There should be several Airwave carriers in most locations.

Are you maybe using a Uniden as your handheld? Sometimes they can be a bit deaf to TETRA signals. Try searching in AM mode. Also try manually stepping through the band vs searching. Once you find I'd then follow up using your SDR.

Also, I know the sitefinder site used to display where Airwave base stations were located, but I can't remember if they also show frequencies. As usual the site is down, so you can't check.
jimh
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:13 pm

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby noob » Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:16 pm

jimh wrote:
The place to look will be the 390.0125–394.9875 band. There should be several Airwave carriers in most locations.

Are you maybe using a Uniden as your handheld? Sometimes they can be a bit deaf to TETRA signals.


That was it was my handheld yes uniden lol it was missing the signals and going right past them i stepped through the frequencies manually and found them put them in sdrsharp and they was there scanned in sdrsharp and couldn’t find anything i must of been scrolling to fast on the waterfall.

All good now managed to decode a unencrypted airwave frequency and found a tetra public safety network witch is obviously not decoding lol but shows me the relevant information so i know my set up is all working fine cheers for the tip on uniden scanners missing the signals

Cheers

Noob
noob
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:45 am

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby jimh » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:04 pm

Happy to help.

noob wrote:All good now managed to decode a unencrypted airwave frequency and found a tetra public safety network witch is obviously not decoding lol but shows me the relevant information so i know my set up is all working fine cheers for the tip on uniden scanners missing the signals


Do you mean unencrypted TETRA vs unencrypted Airwave ? (I'm not aware the latter exists).
I'd be interested to know what unencrypted network you've managed to decode (frequencies/NCC/NMC).....PM is fine if you prefer not to post here.
jimh
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:13 pm

Re: Tetra No signal ?

Postby noob » Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:05 pm

Sent you a pm pal
noob
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:45 am


Return to DMR & Digital Modes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest