Can't hear any digital??

Forum for DMR, dPMR, NEXEDGE, Mototrbo, MARC, Tetra & all other DIGITAL modes

Can't hear any digital??

Postby Sid » Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:44 pm

Sry guys, more noob questions.

I'm really struggling to get to grips with digital.
I've not got my licence as yet, so can (and will) only listen.

I've programmed in my local digi repeater to my md380, which is GB7GF (Guildford).
However, I never hear any traffic (I'm around 18 miles away). Am I doing something wrong, or just simply out of range?

Thanks in advance.
Sid
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:37 pm
Location: Hampshire

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby m0lsx » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:23 pm

It could be that there is no traffic. It could be you have set one of the perimeters wrongly or it could be you are, as you wonder. Out of range.
With digital signals there is no fading, no signal amongst the noise. It is there & readable or it is not resolvable.
Buy a database from Kimmy JS19 via http://ukscanningdirectory.co.uk/
Or do Google search of this forum via http://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=partner-pub-6291336405621919:2662881632
73 De Alan (M0LSX.)
http://www.qrz.com/db/M0LSX"
User avatar
m0lsx
 
Posts: 5856
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Norwich. TG21.

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby Minus1 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:20 am

Have you checked the coverage map?
https://www.ukrepeater.net/my_repeater.php?id=2261
I reserve the right to ignore people who have made no attempt to the read the manual, and expect others to do it for them.
User avatar
Minus1
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 8:17 am
Location: West Midlands

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby Metradio » Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:51 am

A common problem when programming DMR tranceivers is entering the TX frequency the same as the RX one, for the radio to work correctly on repeaters the TX has to be set at something other than the RX frequency, otherwise the transceiver thinks it is in simplex mode and will not receive repeaters..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD.
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q /UBCD3600XLT / WTR Browser.
User avatar
Metradio
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 5:53 pm
Location: Box 500, Slough, Berkshire

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby Sid » Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:37 pm

Minus1 wrote:Have you checked the coverage map?
https://www.ukrepeater.net/my_repeater.php?id=2261


Hi,

Yes had a look at that. I'm on the border of a blue & pink area not far from Hindhead.
Not sure what the colours depict though?
Sid
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:37 pm
Location: Hampshire

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby Sid » Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:42 pm

Metradio wrote:A common problem when programming DMR tranceivers is entering the TX frequency the same as the RX one, for the radio to work correctly on repeaters the TX has to be set at something other than the RX frequency, otherwise the transceiver thinks it is in simplex mode and will not receive repeaters..

Mike


Thanks Mike,

I've deffo checked that and entries are correct. I have some analogue repeaters programmed, so was already used to that.
Double checked settings today and still picking up nothing. I'd assume a repeater would reach me at this distance. Mind you, I suppose it could be I'm on a hand held.
I can pick up the Farnham repeater GB3FN fine and that's around 12 miles away.
Sid
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:37 pm
Location: Hampshire

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby m0lsx » Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:07 pm

Sid wrote: I'd assume a repeater would reach me at this distance. Mind you, I suppose it could be I'm on a hand held.
I can pick up the Farnham repeater GB3FN fine and that's around 12 miles away.


Distance has nothing to do with anything. You could be under 5 miles away & not get into a repeater, it's all to do with what is between the antennas. Even the smallest of land rises between could be blocking the signal.
Have you checked the path between you & the repeater?
My wife can work the Norwich VHF repeater from some parts of Great Yarmouth on her handheld. But only in some parts of Great Yarmouth & that is at a distance of 17 miles & on VHF & with the repeater at one of the highest points in the county & her at sea level & thus with nothing but clear air between antennas.
UHF has a higher path loss.
I use the following...
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/terrain.php?Make=-1&ngr=TG254024&bht=2&ngr1=TG524073&daod=2&dname=&dht=&go=go

Then open the following too..
https://gridreferencefinder.com/

Zoom into the location of both antennas & right click to get the 6 figure grid ref. (something like...SK831281.)
Set the antenna height on Megalithia to 2 & you will get an idea of if the signal should make it or not.
The repeater antenna should be well above 2 meters high, so setting it low is a worst case scenario, but the map does not see buildings, woodland etc etc. So it's only ever going to give a rough idea.
Buy a database from Kimmy JS19 via http://ukscanningdirectory.co.uk/
Or do Google search of this forum via http://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=partner-pub-6291336405621919:2662881632
73 De Alan (M0LSX.)
http://www.qrz.com/db/M0LSX"
User avatar
m0lsx
 
Posts: 5856
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Norwich. TG21.

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby m0lsx » Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:11 pm

Image
Buy a database from Kimmy JS19 via http://ukscanningdirectory.co.uk/
Or do Google search of this forum via http://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=partner-pub-6291336405621919:2662881632
73 De Alan (M0LSX.)
http://www.qrz.com/db/M0LSX"
User avatar
m0lsx
 
Posts: 5856
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:14 pm
Location: Norwich. TG21.

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby Sid » Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:24 pm

Thanks for the help chaps. I'll look into what's been suggested. I feel you are probably correct in that it's a combination of distance & obstacles.. :sad:
Sid
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:37 pm
Location: Hampshire

Re: Can't hear any digital??

Postby CW-2E0UCW » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:07 pm

Have you set up the digital side correctly with talk groups?
There is an echo server for checking access - TG9990 on TS2
If you need guidance on the digital side, visit http://www.dmr-uk.net
CW-2E0UCW
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:13 pm

Next

Return to DMR & Digital Modes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest