Going Digital

Forum for DMR, dPMR, NEXEDGE, Mototrbo, MARC, Tetra & all other DIGITAL modes

Going Digital

Postby LewisW296 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:58 am

Good Evening all,

I've been doing a bit of "google-jitsu" regarding scanning digital frequencies. It is at this point, I should warn you that I'm an utter noob to digital scanning. There are 2 things that keep repeating themselves and that is a discriminator tap modification (which is not an option) and some sort of dongle which doesn't require any modification. Can someone please explain to me what I would need to do (or link me to some easy reading literature regarding it) if I wanted to pursue the dongle path. And a few questions:

1. Is this tech still "valid" in the current scanning community?
2. Some sources have said the dongle acts as a scanner to itself. Does this mean I won't require the scanner?
3. Can someone cite me a reliable dongle?
4. Is there any other software required for the dongle to work?

Sorry for the noobish questions but we all start somewhere. And weighing in on a 4 year old thread... well that's just rude :wink:
LewisW296

Re: Going Digital

Postby G4RMT » Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:42 am

You need to google sdr-plus and ssd-plus. There plenty of youtube hits - some good some confusing. Essentially though the basics are these.