Digital radio scanner

Forum for DMR, dPMR, NEXEDGE, Mototrbo, MARC, Tetra & all other DIGITAL modes

Digital radio scanner

Postby JezUK1 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:35 pm

Hi guys. What are the main benefits of a Digital radio scanner? Can you pic up Digital home phones? I don’t understand as I’m new to the hobby. Thanks
JezUK1

Re: Digital radio scanner

Postby iScottybotty » Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:56 pm

Hi,

To be honest, the answers in the question :tongue:

As times and technology moves forward, so does the consumers needs on the ground and my understanding is that Digital, or DMR, and it’s capability of limitising the spectrum with Talk Groups as opposed to individual frequencies per channel outweighs analogue in terms of cost effectiveness and technology, not to mention it’s other features.

You asked about benefits, it’s highly likely that there are Digital users around your area, one benefit is, subject to encryption, you’ll be able to listen in. You can’t do that on analogue my friend.

I guess your asking a question similar to, “what are the benefits of a manual or automatic transmission on my car”... one does what the other one doesn’t.

One thing I will say though is Digital Scanners are NOT plug and play. You can’t for example just get one out the box, switch it on and expect to hear digital transmissions. If that’s what your expecting then it’s not for you, not yet anyway.

Do some research, join some forums, Whistler one for example. See what others are saying whilst at the same time, learn about what it does, and doesn’t do and importantly, what you need to do to get it working.

As for digital telephones, unless the scanner is capable of decoding DECT, I think not.

Good luck.
iScottybotty

Postby Metradio » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:49 pm