3600xlt programming nightmare

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

3600xlt programming nightmare

Postby AndrewIrvine » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:48 pm

I'm not the most computer literate, I'm trying to get Sentinel to run, it won't. The version that came with the radio seems to be out of date, Mike Burgess has a facebook page with an updated version, I have problems unzipping it and getting it to run. I'm about tearing my hair out...

Any help appreciated


[color=#FF0000]Pro 2042, Pro 26, 3500XLT

Yaesu FT60-R, Yeasu 1900, Retevis RT3, Tytera MD380, Retevis H777, FDC160A, 278B, Puxing 888
, Uniden 3600XLT
"I'm listening.."
AndrewIrvine
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:45 am

Re: 3600xlt programming nightmare

Postby radiostationx » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:09 pm

Hi Andrew,

Dont own a uniden now but
1.Have you tried setting permissions/security on the new folder/destination folder for the zip ?
2.Are you running sentinel as an administrator ?

Just guessing that this may be the issue.
User avatar
radiostationx
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:29 pm

Re: 3600xlt programming nightmare

Postby AndrewIrvine » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:10 pm

It's running as an administrator, I'm using 7Zip on Windows 10 to try and extract. This morning I had the settings for the custom search etc up on screen, now I can't find them.


[color=#FF0000]Pro 2042, Pro 26, 3500XLT

Yaesu FT60-R, Yeasu 1900, Retevis RT3, Tytera MD380, Retevis H777, FDC160A, 278B, Puxing 888
, Uniden 3600XLT
"I'm listening.."
AndrewIrvine
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:45 am

Re: 3600xlt programming nightmare

Postby AndrewIrvine » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:32 am

One thing I have noticed, my 3500 had to have an identical baud rate in the programming, device manager and radio, I've found the setting in the device manager, but not in the radio, or does it not matter or have one?


[color=#FF0000]Pro 2042, Pro 26, 3500XLT

Yaesu FT60-R, Yeasu 1900, Retevis RT3, Tytera MD380, Retevis H777, FDC160A, 278B, Puxing 888
, Uniden 3600XLT
"I'm listening.."
AndrewIrvine
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:45 am

Re: 3600xlt programming nightmare

Postby mickydt » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:12 pm

get the butel software for the 3600 cheapest version it is easy to use and also includes the drivers needed.

when i had mine i never bothered with sentinel it was a bag of rubbish.

one thing are you able to open mass storage okay also there should be no need to muck around with baud rates.

on your computer when you plug in the 3600 is it showing in device manager
supporting those with sickness and disabilities https://socialhub.forumotion.co.uk/
User avatar
mickydt
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:15 am

Re: 3600xlt programming nightmare

Postby AndrewIrvine » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:18 pm

I can get the mass storage message to come up, the baud rate thing was just a thought, watching YouTube clips, it was never mentioned. Then again in the US the radio virtually self programmes thanks to RadioReference. I can't find a clip that is UK based from unboxing to programming using the Sentinel or other programming.

I saw software from Butel, £54 is rather eye watering, unless you know of somewhere else. I did get the programming up, I even changed the search banks. Then it all went. I'm also one of these folks that can sometimes handle technical stuff but fail on the simple, like someone who could perform brain surgery but would struggle to tie their shoelaces.


[color=#FF0000]Pro 2042, Pro 26, 3500XLT

Yaesu FT60-R, Yeasu 1900, Retevis RT3, Tytera MD380, Retevis H777, FDC160A, 278B, Puxing 888
, Uniden 3600XLT
"I'm listening.."
AndrewIrvine
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:45 am


Return to Radio and Scanning Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest