Total Newbie Guidance - Manchester Airport

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

Total Newbie Guidance - Manchester Airport

Postby Xr3iste » Thu Dec 20, 2018 6:52 pm

HI, I have just been given an ALINCO DJ-X30E, I have no experience in using scanners but would like to try and have a go at listening in to aircraft as I live on the approach to Manchester Airport. I have no idea if the Scanner works properly or even if its capable of what I would like to do.
The unit seems to do everything such as changing frequencies/bands etc and I have somehow managed to pick-up FM radio stations. I have downloaded the instruction manual and had a quick overview, so now I am looking to try and listen in to air traffic approaching Manchester Airport (if I can).
Apologies for such lamens questions but what MODE do I need to set it to......and once on the right mode do I simply set the correct frequency for Manchester Approach ???

:embarrased: :embarrased:

Receiver range: 0.100 - 1299.995 MHz (Cellular frequencies 824.000 - 849.995MHz, 869.000 - 894.995MHz blocked on T models )
Mode: FM,WFM,AM
Xr3iste

Re: Total Newbie Guidance

Postby kiac2802 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 6:59 pm

Try programming in 455.550 on fm and also 455.762 on fm again and see if you hear anything, they are the frequencies for manchester tower.

Those are the ones i normally use.

Kieran
kiac2802

Postby Minus1 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:56 am

The defintive source of VHF Air frequencies for Manchester Airport is here:

http://www.ead.eurocontrol.int/eadbasic ... -11-08.pdf

via http://www.nats-uk.ead-it.com/public/in ... d=148.html

All VHF Airband freqs are AM
I reserve the right to ignore people who have made no attempt to the read the manual, and expect others to do it for them.
Minus1

Postby Minus1 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:01 am

EGCC Handling freqs:

130.65 AM Signature Manchester EGCC
131.4 AMn 131:|405 Menzies Manchester Ops EGCC
131.4333 AMn 131:435 Swissport Manchester EGCC