UBC125XLT intermittent audio cut-out

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

UBC125XLT intermittent audio cut-out

Postby wyattd916 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:45 pm

Hello. My first post here, I'm new to this.

I have bought a UBC125XLT and have managed to setup four bands for airfield frequencies near to me (which are Farnborough, Odiham, Lasham etc). I can successfully pick up transmissions from Farnborough radar whilst the unit scans that bank. All good so far.
But here is my problem. When it detects a transmission, I can hear the audio and the unit shows that frequency (and the tag I have assigned it), but I only hear the transmission for about a couple of seconds before it very temporarily cuts out and then continues. The display shows the frequency throughout, it's only the audio that has the temporary cut-out. If the transmission is for a while (say 10 seconds), then the cut-out will happen several times, (say 5 times). It makes it quite frustrating to listen to as you never quite get what is being said. If I listen using headphones, it's the same.

Does anyone else have this problem? Or is there something I'm doing wrong? I was going to return the unit for another, but thought I would reach out for help/advice here first.

Thanks in advance.
wyattd916

Re: UBC125XLT intermittent audio cut-out

Postby moj » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:10 pm

Make sure that your closecall is turned off and priority channel in your scan settings mate , thats the usual known cause ;)
moj

Postby wyattd916 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:20 pm

Fantastic! I tried both of those, and think it was the Priority Channel setting that did it. No cut-out now, so much better.

Thanks so much for the fast reply too.
wyattd916

Postby Scan125 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:07 pm

Also check that the Delay is not set to 0, -5 or -10. These setting will let the scanner resume scanning immediately after a 0, 5 or 10 second delay EVEN IF A SIGNAL IS STILL ACTIVE.