ATCC Question

A place to talk about everything Radio and Scanning

ATCC Question

Postby Xr3iste » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:58 pm

Im new to this fascinating pastime, and with guidance from the members on here, I am slowly getting to grips with the basics.....However im slightly confused with the numerous ATCC frequencies.
As far as I have learned.... ( in lamens terms) the ATCC controls airspace between a lower and higher altitude, and it has various different frequencies. There are TWO main centres, Prestwick being the Northern and Swanwick being the Southern.
My initial question is Are these frequencies/broadcasts "repeated" across a network of transmitters such as KELSALL ?

Am I anywhere near correct in my thoughts :embarrased: :embarrased: :embarrased:
Xr3iste

Re: ATCC Question

Postby Chris P » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:15 am

As I understand it whilst the controllers are in Swanwick and Prestwick the transmitter sites are located in the areas that they cover and each transmitter site will have transmitters on the relevant frequencies for example Chedburgh has transmitters on the frequencies for the north sea and Clacton sectors whilst Kelsall will have transmitters on the Wirral and lakes sectors . As far as I am aware only one transmission on one transmitter is used simultaneously by one controller but the controllers can use different transmitters if they require to eg if there is a transmitter failure an alternative may be used.